Bengals News · Bengals Roll to First District Title Since 1986!

Nate Barnes-News

TWINSBURG — John Ellis was hired as Benedictine’s baseball coach four years ago. He took over the program at the same time a freshman class including Daniel Keenan, Connor O’Donnell, John Bufford, Maxwell Monachino, Matthew Stauffer, Nick Demchuk and Billy Boehlke arrived.

Nearly 30 years had elapsed since Benedictine last won a district baseball championship. The group set a goal to win one by the time they were seniors, in 2019.

Aurora took a one-run lead in the third inning May 22, and the Bengals answered with nine, then eventually pulled away to secure a 14-4 victory in five innings. Benedictine, champion of the Division II Twinsburg District, won its first district crown since 1986.